Jan Carew to receive award at Caribbean
-Canada literary expo
By Patrick Denny
Stabroek News
June 18, 2003

Related Links: Articles on people
Letters Menu Archival Menu

Distinguished Guyanese author Dr. Jan Carew will be the recipient of the first CCLE Lifetime Creative Award in Literature at the opening gala on Friday for the inaugural two-day Caribbean-Canadian Literary Expo 2003.

Under the auspices of the CARICOM Consular Corps, Guyanese and Caribbean authors and storytellers will be featured at the Literary Expo at the Design Exchange, Toronto Dominion Tower, Bay and Adelaide Streets, a release from the Guyana Consulate in Toronto said.

The featured Guyanese authors, the release said, are:

Dr. Jan Carew, who has written several scholarly works and plays as well as fiction for adults, youth and children and is perhaps best known for his first novel, Black Midas (1958).Ken Corsbie, an international storyteller, dramatist, playwright, poetry performer and raconteur who has been performing for over 30 years.Bernard Heydorn, an educator, novelist, essayist, humorist, poet and newspaper columnist, and a recipient of the Wordsworth McAndrew Award, Guyana Folk Festival 2002 (New York) in recognition of his outstanding contribution to Guyana’s culture and heritage.Dr. Arnold Itwaru, poet/novelist and scholarly writer, was the recipient of the Guyana Arts Council Prize for Free Verse (1969) and the A.J. Seymour Prize for Lyrical Poetry (1968).

Peter Jailall, retired teacher, storyteller and poet, and an avid supporter of human rights and social justice who expresses his compassion and passion for human values through poetry and stories.Ruel Johnson, poet and novelist who at age 22 was the recipient of the Guyana Prize for Literature 2002 for Best First Book of Fiction, making him the youngest person ever to win a Guyana Prize. Pauline Melville, novelist, is the recipient of the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best First Book (1990), the PEN/MacMillan Silver Pen Award (1991), and the Whitbread First Novel Award (1997), and was on the shortlist for the Orange Prize for Fiction (1998).

Site Meter